Oregon DUII Penalties
Oregon’s DUII penalties can range depending on the vehicle being driven, the age of the driver, and the blood alcohol content (BAC).
Before any penalties are determined, you must be convicted of the offense, either by pleading guilty or by being found guilty in court. However, there may be administrative penalties whether you are convicted or not. Administrative penalties can include fees or having your license suspended. A 90-day suspension may be given if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is at or above .08 percent, whether you are convicted of the crime later on or not.
Penalties for an adult (21+) driving a non-commercial vehicle:
For a first-offense DUII when the BAC is between .08 and .15 percent, penalties can include either a jail sentence or community service, fines, suspension of the driver’s license, and an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). Jail time can range from two days to one year depending on the circumstances. Community service can range between 80 to 250 hours. There may also be a fine of $1,000 or more, the license may be suspended for up to a year, and the IID may be installed for up to a year. If the BAC is .15 percent or higher, the penalties will be more severe.
Penalties for an adult (21+) with a CDL (Commercial Driver’s License):
A CDL driver who is convicted of a DUII for the first time may lose their license for at least one year, spend two to 10 days in jail, pay a fine between $1,000 and $2,000, and they will need to complete a substance abuse treatment class. If the driver was hauling hazardous materials, the license can be suspended for at least three years.
Penalties for underage drinkers:
Anyone who is under the legal drinking age may face suspended driving privileges for one year and a fine of $1,000.
A DUII conviction can have significant and life-changing penalties. If you were arrested for a DUII, don’t go through it alone. Contact the attorneys at Donahue Law Firm today.